..author of the weird and wonderful, the mysterious and magical, the utterly unforgettable.

The One Apart

Only one obstacle stands in his way of enjoying a normal life. He remembers—every life he’s lived before.

Tres is about to be born… with the biggest burden any has ever had to bear. He is beginning again—as an ageless adult trapped in an infant body.

He and his teenage mother face life filled with extraordinary challenges as they strive to protect, nurture, and hide how truly different he is. But Tres alone must solve the greatest mystery of all: who is he? The answer is linked to the one question he’s too afraid to ask: why am I?

In his quest, Tres discovers that all is considerably more interconnected and dynamic than he could ever imagine—and fraught with far more danger. He cannot hide from the unseen threat stalking him since his birth.

Life as he knows it—as all know it—is in peril. And Tres is the only one aware.

Reviews

This novel offers a very new and unusually mystical take on the idea that our reality is only the tip of the iceberg. It stretches the length of Tres/Aaron’s life, chronicling his childhood, teenage years, and young adulthood, with all the complex experiences that are a part of those periods of… Read full review
Entrada Publishing
First off, I must say that I was taken by the originality of the concept of the story and the plot is like nothing I have read anywhere. I enjoyed the bond between the young mother and her ageless little baby and from the moment I met the characters, I became very keen on discovering what their… Read full review
Romuald Dzemo for Readers’ Favorite
This is an ambitious, carefully plotted book that is, on one hand, the story of a small, close family and the trials and triumphs of daily life, and on the other, about a young man living a dual, paranormal life. It’s highly original with several unexpected twists. ... The author's careful… Read full review
Blue Ink Review
A metaphysical blend of story and truth as one individual considers how his actions will affect the world. A book that will stay with readers long after they put it down, an excellent piece of literature. A perfect blend of realism, fantasy and deep spirituality awaits those who open Justine… Read full review
Chanticleer Book Reviews
This book is A-MA-ZING!! It's for fans of The Age of Adaline and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and I stand by that. If you loved any of the movies or books, you can’t miss this. Even if you haven’t watched or read any, you should still read this book.

 ... The end ... made me… Read full review
Taiwo Balogun for Stuffed Shelves
The One Apart: A Novel by Justine Avery is the intricate story of the reincarnation of Tres, who will be known as Aaron, for his final journey into the corporeal. The concept of the story is not like one that I have read before, and I was immediately drawn into the novel and felt a connection… Read full review
Christi Lyle-Rasheed for Tulsa Book Review
Weaves a beautiful narrative into a tapestry of fantasy and wonder... Readers familiar with author Justine Avery will be delighted to discover her latest work has moved beyond the scope of short story into a captivating and intriguing novel. The One Apart explores the concept of reincarnation in… Read full review
New Apple Literary Review
The One Apart by Justine Avery weaves a fascinatingly intricate narrative that will captivate readers from beginning to end. Employing developed, well-rounded characters, The One Apart explores the interconnectedness of fate, spirituality, and purpose in life through a riveting chronicle of… Read full review
Jessica Tingling for Seattle Book Review
The One Apart is a reincarnation story with a difference: Tres has lived many lives before, and he remembers them all. As a newborn with an adult's memories, he finds himself struggling, along with his teenage mother Sancha, to adapt to a life that once again places him well apart from not… Read full review
D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer for Midwest Book Review
There is much to enjoy in The One Apart and the concept behind the story is original and intriguing. An ageless adult, who barely understands his origins, reborn into a world that isn’t as welcoming as should be for any normal human being, Tres is an enigmatic character that readers will love… Read full review
Divine Zape for Readers’ Favorite
In The One Apart by Justine Avery, Tres is born remembering all of this past lives and has been entirely aware and conscious of these memories and the world around him from the moment he awoke in his mother’s womb. Needless to say, he is not destined to live a normal life on Earth but instead… Read full review
Rebecca Demarest for Manhattan Book Review

Inspiration

(written by Tom McCarthy & Josh Singer)

(written & directed by Quentin Tarantino)

(written & directed by Graham Linehan)

(written & directed by Christopher McQuarrie)